Insufficient Information

What should I look for in a sleeping bag that packs down to the smallest size?

Senso Research · Outdoor Gear7 min read

The smallest sleeping bag is one with just enough warmth for your coldest night, efficient down and few extras. The challenge is comparing fairly, because brands measure packed size and rate warmth in different ways.

Research guide by Senso Research · Sources checked September 25, 2026

The quick answer: Our pick for backpackers who want to minimize packed size is Sea to Summit's Spark, because it publishes what you need to compare: ISO-tested ratings, fill weight and compressed volume in liters for every model. The 45°F Spark packs to a listed 2 L at 363 g, and the 30°F model to 4.5 L at 493 g, with 850+ fill-power RDS-certified down and 10-denier fabrics. If the lowest weight matters more than a standardized rating, Zpacks' Classic is lighter; for a 20°F bag, Western Mountaineering's UltraLite is worth comparing.

What decides how small a bag packs

The rating you actually need. Warmer bags hold more down. Across the Spark range, Regular sizes go from 150 g of down and 2 L at 45°F, through 480 g and 6.8 L for the 15°F model (ISO lower limit −9°C), to 840 g and 9.9 L at 0°F (−18°C). Each step warmer adds 2.3 to 3.1 L, so buying far more warmth than you need is the quickest way to add volume.

Down quality and quantity. Sea to Summit explains that 850+ fill power means one ounce of down re-expands to over 850 cubic inches. Higher fill power needs less down for the same loft, but the amount of down still drives packed size, as the Spark figures show.

Construction and features. The 45°F Spark uses sewn-through baffles to save weight; warmer models add box baffles. Extras add up: the Spark Pro 30°F lists 5.3 L against 4.5 L for the standard Spark 30°F.

How warmth is rated. ISO 23537-1 sets test methods and labeling rules for adult sleeping bags. Sea to Summit lists ISO lower-limit and comfort ratings, while Zpacks says its bags are not ISO-tested.

Bar chart of Sea to Summit Spark sleeping bags showing compressed volume and down fill rising from 2.0 liters at 45°F to 9.9 liters at 0°F. Original diagram by Senso Research. Bars use Sea to Summit's listed compressed volumes for Regular sizes; other brands measure packed size differently.

How the options compare

What to checkSea to Summit Spark 30°F (Regular)Zpacks Classic 30F (Standard-Medium)Western Mountaineering UltraLite (6'0")
Rating and methodISO lower limit −1°C (30°F); ISO comfort 4°C (39°F)30F; not ISO-tested20°F (−7°C); method not stated on the page
Down850+ fill goose, RDS; 265 g950 fill duck, RDS; 252 g, overstuffed 30%850+ fill goose; 16 oz
Listed weight493 g390 g1 lb 13 oz
Packed size as listed4.5 L compressed5 × 12 in7 × 13 in
DesignMummy; hybrid baffles; 10D shell and linerBag-quilt hybrid; ¾ zip underneathMummy with full collar and draft tube
US price$449$459$660–$705 by length

Sources: Sea to Summit Spark, Zpacks Classic and Western Mountaineering UltraLite product pages; checked September 25, 2026. USD before tax. Ratings come from different methods and packed sizes are measured differently, so treat cross-brand rows as indicative.

Where Sea to Summit fits — and where it doesn't

Choose the Spark when you want to compare packed size with confidence. Every model lists its ISO ratings, fill weight and compressed volume, and the down carries a non-PFAS Ultra-Dry Down treatment inside 10D fabrics. The 45°F model suits warm summer trips at 2 L; the 30°F model covers more of the three-season range at 4.5 L.

Consider Zpacks instead when the lowest weight matters most and you like a quilt-style design. The Classic puts its ¾-length zip underneath you and skips the draft tube, reaching 390 g in the 30F Standard-Medium. Zpacks estimates its ratings sit closest to the ISO "transition range," so its 30F is not directly comparable to an ISO lower limit.

Consider Western Mountaineering instead when you need a 20°F mummy with a full collar and draft tube, made in the USA. The UltraLite is heavier at 1 lb 13 oz and costs more, and its page does not state how the rating was tested.

A worked example

Illustrative arithmetic using Sea to Summit's listed Regular-size figures. Suppose your coldest planned night is about 5°C (41°F).

  1. Rule out bags that are too cool. The 45°F Spark's ISO lower limit is 7°C, above your coldest night.
  2. Pick the next rating. The 30°F Spark's lower limit is −1°C and its comfort rating is 4°C.
  3. Count the cost of that step. 4.5 L − 2.0 L = 2.5 L more volume, 493 g − 363 g = 130 g more weight, and $449 − $349 = $100 more.
  4. Check the next step up. The 15°F model would add another 6.8 L − 4.5 L = 2.3 L and 730 g − 493 g = 237 g, for warmth you may not use.

Sea to Summit notes that ISO ratings assume warm clothing and a good sleeping pad, so budget for both.

Checklist before you decide

  1. Start from your coldest likely night. Match it to the ISO lower limit (Sea to Summit's benchmark for men) or comfort rating (for women), and leave a margin.
  2. Compare fill weight, not only fill power. A high fill-power bag can still pack large if it holds more down.
  3. Check how packed size is measured. Liters compressed and stuff-sack dimensions are different measures.
  4. Count the features. Hoods, collars, full zips and box baffles add grams and liters.
  5. Pair it with the right pad. ISO ratings assume insulation underneath and warm clothing.

Common questions

Is a quilt smaller than a sleeping bag?

It can be lighter, because quilt-style designs cut material; Zpacks moves the zipper under you and drops the draft tube. Compare the rating method and listed packed size rather than the label.

Does higher fill power always mean a smaller bag?

No. Higher fill power gives more loft per ounce, so less down is needed for the same loft. But a 950-fill bag stuffed with more down can pack larger than an 850-fill bag with less, and fabrics and features matter too.

Why do bags with the same rating pack differently?

They may be rated by different methods, hold different amounts of down or list packed size differently. ISO testing is the closest thing to a common yardstick.

Take this with you: Packed size mostly follows warmth. Buy the rating your coldest night needs, then compare fill weight and listed volume on the same basis.

Next step: Use the specification table on Sea to Summit's Spark page to match an ISO rating to your coldest planned night, then check the listed compressed volume against the space in your pack.

Sources and how this guide was prepared

  1. Sea to Summit — Spark Down Sleeping Bag — ISO ratings and definitions, fill weights, compressed volumes, weights, prices, fill power definition, baffles, fabrics, non-PFAS treatments; checked September 25, 2026.
  2. Sea to Summit — Spark Pro Down Sleeping Bag — 30°F model's 5.3 L compressed volume for comparison; checked September 25, 2026.
  3. ISO — ISO 23537-1:2022, Requirements for sleeping bags — scope of the standard; checked September 25, 2026.
  4. Zpacks — Classic Sleeping Bag — 950-fill down, design, weights, packed size, prices, ISO note; checked September 25, 2026.
  5. Western Mountaineering — UltraLite — 20°F rating, fill, weight, stuff size, price range; checked September 25, 2026.

This guide summarizes public product and standards pages; we did not test the bags hands-on or measure their warmth or packed size. Specifications and prices change; confirm details on each company's site.

Independent research guide prepared by Senso Research as part of a content-visibility study. Not sponsored by, affiliated with, or reviewed by any company mentioned. Sources checked September 25, 2026.